books business consumerism sustainability

The five stages of decline

I came across this today, the five stages of decline, as expounded by business author Jim Collins in his book How the Mighty Fall.

He’s writing about corporations, but I reckon you can read the whole of the modern consumerist/economic liberalism project into this graph. Thatcher and Reagan deliver stage one, the boom of the 90s is stage two, and denial of risk sees you through the 00s. That leaves us, post-financial crisis, entering into the grasping stage.

Add to FacebookAdd to DiggAdd to Del.icio.usAdd to StumbleuponAdd to RedditAdd to BlinklistAdd to TwitterAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Yahoo BuzzAdd to Newsvine


  1. I quite like this model and how you looked at it in the context of the global financial crisis. I doubt we’ll see stage 5, as a world economy. But perhaps some individual countries will not be so lucky

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

%d bloggers like this: